## **Our Nineteenth President**



Shri S. Rath

Hailing from the pious land of Odisha, Shri Satchidananda Rath was born on 19<sup>th</sup> May, 1955. He completed his M.Sc. in Applied Geology in 1977 from the prestigious and the maiden Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, standing First Class First in order of merit.

## President, 2014 & 2015

He joined Oil India Limited as Geologist way back in 1979 and has over 35 years of experience in petroleum exploration, development and production in India and abroad at various levels in onshore and offshore operations.

He continued his academic pursuit and joined the "Offshore Prospecting Course" at Geological Survey of Japan and also obtained Diploma in Management from IGNOU, New Delhi.

Shri Rath has been associated in major Eocene Oil and Gas discoveries in Assam & Arunachal Pradesh.

- He led the team which established the 'Integrated Interpretation Centre' at Duliajan in 1999.
- He was also involved in strategic organizational change initiative in Oil India Ltd. as Chief Coordinator.
- He was on deputation as *Dy. Director General* to the Directorate General of Hydrocarbon (DGH), Government of India, and oversaw oil and gas, coal-bed methane and shale gas exploration, development and production, including post-contract monitoring of oil, gas and CBM operation.

He became thus the fittest person to take over as *Director (Operations)*, OIL on 31<sup>st</sup> March, 2011.

• He has more than 35 valuable publications, besides several semi-technical articles on management covering leadership, mental models and empowerments.

## Awards & Accolades

Shri Rath has been bestowed with several honours and awards, starting with AEG, M. B. Ramachandra Rao Gold Medal for Young Geoscientist Award in 1985.

- He won the Best Poster Category Award of the Society of Petroleum Geologists in 2004 and
- Recently, the Indian Mining & Engineering (IME) Journal bestowed on him the *Life Time Achievement Award* for his long & outstanding contributions to Earth Sciences, in general, and Indian Hydrocarbon Sector in particular.

It is our privilege to have such an eminent geologist as *President of the Indian Geological Congress* for the biennial years, 2014 & 2015.