Composition of Executive Council

           The affairs of the Congress are managed by a broad-based Executive Council with representatives of the States, the Central Govt., and private & public  sector industrial & scientific organisations and universities. The Executive Council (EC) comprises;-         

    Office Bearers


 Immediate Past President

 Executive President

 Vice Presidents – 4

 Secretaries – 2

 Joint Secretaries – 2



    Eleccted Members

Ten elected members of whom atleast two, but not more than three shall be resident in the Headquarters of the Congress.

    Ex-Officio Members
  1. Secretary, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, New Delhi, or, his nominee.

  2. Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India, New Delhi, or his nominee

  3. Secretary, Ministry of Mines, Govt. of India, New Delhi or his nominee.

  4. Director-General, Geological Survey of India, Kolkatta, or, his nominee.

  5. Chairman, Central Ground Water Board, New Delhi, or, his nominee.

  6. Chairman-cum-Managing Director, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Ltd., Dehradun, or his nominee.

  7. Director, National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad, or his nominee.

  8. Director, Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun, or his nominee.

  9. Head of the Department of Earth Sciences, IIT Roorkee or his nominee.

Ex-Officio Members are nominated by the president for regional representation.
  1. Two representatives of the Public Sector Mining and Mineral Industry.

  2. Two representatives of the Private Sector Mining and Mineral Industry.

  3. Four Directors of Directorate of Geology and Mines from various States/Union
    Territories or their representatives.

  4. Two Representatives of Institutional Members, not mentioned above.



To encourage, co-ordinate and promote the activities of advanced study and researchi n all branches of earth sciences with special emphasis on problems of Indian Geology and to collaborate and co-operate with various national and international institutions related to the study of earth sciences to further the objectives.

About Us

Setting-up was initially heralded in 1976 by Late Prof. A.G. Jhingran for holding biennial conventions as fora for scientific discussions and dissemination of scientific knowledge in the field of geosciences. Having remained in infancy and homeless for about a decade with only nomadicroutines of holding biennial conventions,

News and Events